(Sic) as a parrot

Watching daytime TV yesterday (yes, I’ve been staying with my mother), I noticed spelling mistakes in two consecutive ads. In the first, for a removal company (I think), ‘geographical’ was spelt ‘georgraphical’ (note the intrusive ‘r’). In the second, claims were being made for a detergent that would clean all surfaces, including stainless steal (sic). I found my temperature rising.

Does this make me Lynne Truss? Or am I becoming sad in my own quiet way?

This entry was posted in language, spelling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

