The Elegance of the Hedgehog

Trip Fiction is a brilliantly conceived site that puts together two of my passions: books and travel. Its strap line is “See a location through an author’s eyes”, and it works like this. You click on a city and up pops a list of books set in that city. You can refine your search by author and genre. Let me give you an example. Say you want to read something set in Rome. You click on Rome. You’re in the mood for a crime novel. You click on crime. (This is pure hypothesis, obviously.) In the time it takes your provider to do your bidding, you see a list of crime novels set in the Eternal City, the second of which just happens to be Any Human Face. (Which, incidentally, has 4.5 stars, 0.5 stars more than any other novel on the page. Just saying.)

I’m actually here to tell you that Trip Fiction very kindly invited me to review The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (translated by Alison Anderson). It’s set in what may be my favourite city, so how could I refuse? You can read my review of the novel here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Elegance of the Hedgehog

  1. Agree that Trip Fiction is a brilliant concept. I’m reading a book to review for them right now or at least I’m trying to. I read another by the same author when I was actually staying in the city where it is set and found it charming…now I’m uncomfortably aware of the slow plot and stodgy sentence construction.Being there does seem to make a difference

  2. Pingback: Book reviews, boyfriend sagas and relationship issues! | Into the afterlife......

  3. Pingback: Welcome to a new friend: CHARLES LAMBERT | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Leave a Reply

