Power of the press

Well, I hadn’t realised the Sunday Telegraph would have such impact in a provincial Italian town.I’d decided to keep pretty quiet about the piece I wrote on Fondi a few weeks ago, on the grounds that the information wasn’t there to boost local egos but to help people who didn’t know the place to enjoy themselves here. I point out some of the most attractive places to visit, best places to eat, the usual stuff. I also point out that one of the town’s restaurants is a place to be avoided ‘unless you like being told what to eat by the owner’. I could have said a lot more about this particular place: that the food is over-priced, that the owner treats his customers with contempt, that he refuses to provide a menu, something required by Italian law, and laughs at people who ask for one. I could have, but I didn’t.

I suppose it’s foolish to expect anonymity when your name and photograph appear beside the article, so I wasn’t surprised when some of the people mentioned started to ask for copies. But I didn’t expect to hear that the owner of the offending – and now offended – restaurant was threatening to have me driven from the town, as though it were his personal fiefdom. This is a typically anti-democratic reaction to acts of lèse majesté, so if I’m kneecapped (or disappeared) in the next few weeks, you’ll know who to blame.

This entry was posted in fondi. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power of the press

  1. Chancelucky says:

    Wouldn’t it be more like your coming down with food poisoning rather than getting kneecapped? Or is this restaurant owner really only running the business as a cover for some other enterprise?

  2. You think I’d eat in the place? In any case, now that Berlusconi’s back – cue horrible nightmare music – I’m dead meat…

Leave a Reply

